As a semester comes to an end

It is hard to believe that this semester is coming to a close already. It has gone by so fast. Not just this semester but this entire degree, but that is a whole other story! This is semester we were given the tools to be as good of a leader as we choose to be. We were not given a how to book, or specific directions but we were given the opportunity to find the leader within ourselves, and for that I consider the course a great success and a valuable experience. I find myself reflecting on in day to day life, and believe I will continue to do so as I move into a work environment.

This blog was a chance for me to reflect on what I learnt throughout the course, not to just reiterate the concepts or the daily discussions but to try and connect it to a deeper level and build my understanding of leadership. I believe I have achieved that here, I found this process very rewarding and hope to continue on with blogging after I graduate.

I watched a Ted Talk yesterday by Arianna Huffington, who discussed the value of sleep. Although this might not initially appear to relate back to leadership, I think it does in every possible way. Huffington said “The essence of leadership is being able to see the iceberg before it hits the Titanic.” What she is saying is maybe if you took the time to care for yourself, get a good nights sleep you will have the mind capacity to see what is a head and make better decisions. This idea summed up a lot of what we discussed in this class for me. Before you can be a great leader, you must lead yourself.

Although the idea of self leadership was the focus at the beginning of the course and not the end, it was what I connected back to throughout. It was the goal I set for myself from the beginning, to improve how I lead myself. I think I am working towards better self leadership, but I also think I it is a lifelong journey.

http://www.ted.com/talks/arianna_huffington_how_to_succeed_get_more_sleep

Leave a comment